a purposeful 2014

14 Jan

One of the best things I did last year was enroll in Molly Mahar’s Holiday Council.  Why?  Because she provides her people with awesome colorful worksheets.  You know I am a write-it-down kind of girl and, when color is involved, too, it’s a total win in my book!  Pretty-looking things make me get things done.

The best thing I did all year! Molly Mahar Holiday Council, washi tape, --theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.comYou might be thinking, “oh, it’s just another goal-planning seminar”, but Molly’s fabulous and the three calls over three weeks have a way of making you feel accountable even when it becomes work.  A bonus: there is homework each week and I do really well with structure and lists.

I will admit, I fell behind and didn’t get to all the calls in December.  December was a crazy month for me.  I finished up call three last week (thanks to the recordings she makes!) and finished filling in my worksheets.Messy Pink gorgeous wedding bouquet--theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.comPurposeful.  That’s going to be 2014 for me.  When I started out brain-dumping, dreaming, scheming, trying to nail down what I was looking for, the idea of coming up with one word was challenging.  There are so many nice words out there.  Everyone began sharing their word-of-the-year, and I kept thinking, “oh, that’s such a good one; yeah, that’s great; totally inspiring!” but nothing was clicking for me.  Sure, I can nurture something (but what?).  I could make joyful my word, but thinking about it wasn’t making me joyful. That was not going to work for me.

I kept having these words hit me: intentional, deliberate, confident, dedicated, committed.  To me, all of those things rolled right into purposeful.  Literally, sticking to something and doing it on purpose.  Boom!

This year is all about committing to what I really want and not wasting time doing what does not matter.  What’s the point?

What does that mean for me?  It means consistent blogging, honing my craft, being creative in some way everyday.  This is what makes my world go ’round, so, of course, I should do more of it!

It means getting back to a workout routine.  Not because I want to look amazing for the summer, but so I get awesome sleep.  When you have to leave at 5:45 in the morning to get to your 6:30 shift, better sleep is so lovely.

It means intentionally paying myself first on payday and really watching where my money is going.  Thanks to mint I now have a pretty way to track it!  Like I said at the beginning, pretty things keep me committed.  Do what works for you!

It means intentionally making time to see my family, get together with friends (even if it’s just for a quick coffee shop visit) and not letting everyone’s busyness be an excuse.

It means eating through everything in my cupboards before going to get more groceries.  On a sidenote, I think that will get interesting in about a week and my culinary creativity will get a workout.  So far, though, it’s been great!  I have only bought milk, eggs, and bagels for work.  I have so much food and want to clear that out like I have with the rest of my house and simplify.

It means saying “no” to wasting time online, “no” to feeling badly about truly relaxing every once in a while, “no” to comparison of everyone else, “no” to fear, and “no” to the things that just plain do not matter.

I’ll be saying “yes” to more blooms, more event design, more throwing parties and having people over, more creating, more spending time here writing and inspiring, more collaborating with other wedding professionals, more getting out there and meeting incredible people, more trying new things, and maybe, just maybe starting a few more fun projects.  Stay tuned!

(Molly doesn’t know who I am, other than a holiday council girl.  These are just my thoughts and I will not be receiving compensation.)

One Response to “a purposeful 2014”

  1. Sareeta G. January 14, 2014 at 5:52 pm #

    Good on you Anna! I need to take a page out of your book!

tell me everything!

