the real deal

10 Jan

Okay, I have to be honest with you–I’m already feeling behind in 2014.  Ack!  I was supposed to have given you my vision for the year four days ago and posted on the glamour of it all and how I’m going to be awesome (and you are, too!).

Instead, it’s now Friday and I still only have brainstorming pages for that post.  However, this first full week of January has been very cool.

I got my newsletter from Jess Lively about feeling behind already this year and she actually titled it exactly what I’ve been telling myself all week in this case:

“Getting it right is better than getting it done.”

What real budgeting looks like (not pretty styled shoots)You have no idea how much I just want to get going already on my ideas, but I want to do it right.  That means I don’t rush to just put something up here.  That means taking the time to sort through my stuff and find the right home for it so my home is easier to feel inspired in (since I do most of my work here).  That means being patient (yikes) so I only put out the best work.

This mess has been one of the steps I have taken this week toward simplifying, clearing the junk, and streamlining for a purposeful year.  I actually wanted to post a gorgeous image of my planner all washi-taped-out, a pretty bloom, my beautiful editorial calendars and more.

As I was sitting here, though, sorting receipts and looking at this month’s expenses versus income while learning Mint, I realized that this image more adequately shows what my week has looked like.  Just sitting in a productive mess and loving it.  Since Monday, I have watched everything go from an absurd mess to neat little cubbies of organization and prettiness.

I am not saying that it’s perfect, but it’s getting done and the things that matter most are getting plenty of mulling over so I can do them the best way the first time.

Final steps for tonight: finish my goal-planning and vision so I can share with you on Monday!  I’m thrilled to be starting a new year and making it purposeful.  Happy Friday!

tell me everything!

