Hollandaise and Business

9 Oct

Culinary school--theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

Sometimes the things you’re scared the most of doing are some of the best things in your life.  In my case, one of those things was culinary school.  I was extremely nervous to go because I thought I’d be terrible at it or hold others back, but I went hoping with everything in me that I’d at least pass the classes on the written bit if I was as bad of a chef as I thought and failed miserably on the actually-cooking part.

With as much trepidation as I felt, I knew it was a step in the direction of making my dream happen—a unique step toward event planning that would give me a fresh and different outlook on the industry.

I discovered that I actually was better at cooking than written work and that my personality and ability to remain calm , controlled, and organized in any hectic situation were huge assets in the kitchen and the dining room.

I learned patience there.  Shocker.

Patience is the key to preparing incredible food. Don’t rush it!  It’s an art; taking the time and giving so much of yourself to it results in explosive taste and fantastic product.  I learned that sometimes you have to whisk your arms to jelly in order to create a sauce that is out-of-this-world amazing, and, if it you mess it up, you can fix it with more work and the same ingredients.

Like making a Hollandaise sauce, life and business goals are all about patience and love, love, and more love.

Hollandaise is a sauce best eaten with nutty vegetables and foods like fish or eggs Benedict.  It’s basic two ingredients are egg yolk and clarified butter (butter with the fat strained out).  The process to make it is a very touchy one (some may say a nightmare) and involves a metal bowl over a pot of water (double boiler) and whisking until you think you’ll lose an arm.  If you’re interested in learning to be ambidextrous, making this sauce is a great exercise. 

Basically, once you’ve measured out the ingredients , it’s all a matter of combining the egg yolk and the butter.  BUT all of this involves “not too hot, not too much, not too quick”.  Little by little.  Don’t rush it.  Your sauce will break (separate) if you don’t observe those simple rules.  While it’s still fixable when broken, having to do that is disappointing to say the least.  Imagine having to do that when you’re a competitive person and you have seventeen others doing it with you.  Breaking the sauce is not an option.

If you’re able to slowly drizzle the clarified butter into the whisked egg yolk while whisking your life away and you can add your own little spice blend to it, you’ll end up with a delicious, much-better-than-packaged, rich, and creamy Hollandaise sauce that’s unique to you because you brought it to life and added your own spin to it!

The best things in life--theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

Similarly, when you design your business, blog, branding, offerings, etc, taking the time to do it right instead of rushing and doing too much too fast, you’ll end up with something rich, wonderful, and uniquely you—your best self!

Moral of the story?  As it’s been said, “If your dreams don’t scare you, they’re not big enough.”  Chances are, whatever you’re freaked out about doing or even starting, could be one of the best things you could have done!  Go for it!  It’ll be awesome.

One Response to “Hollandaise and Business”

  1. Sareeta G. October 10, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    I wholeheartedly agree! What a wonderfully written post! This is exactly the way I have been feeling lately, as I am about to embark on starting my own practice. This is the thing that freaks me out the most, but it must be worth it! Thanks for your words today…just what I needed to hear!

tell me everything!

