weekend in review

4 Jun

I have the most amazing man in the world.  Just wanted to get that out there.

Saturday was my one-year-of-living-in-Canada anniversary, and I had asked Darren if we could grab drinks somewhere to celebrate.  We’ve both been super busy with life lately and haven’t gone on a “real” date in far too long, so I figured this was a good reason to do that.  Friday afternoon, he calls me and asks what time I work until on Saturday, then promptly told me I had to be ready to go for dinner 45 minutes after and to dress up (keep in mind, I have a 30-minute commute, too).  What?!

And, true to Darren-form, he wouldn’t tell me where we were going.  Thankfully, I managed to sneak out of work early and was ready to go when he picked me up.

Did I mention he’s amazing?

If you’ve been following me on Instagram, you may already know this: he took to to Spencer’s at the Waterfront in Burlington.  uuuuuuh-MAZING.  The view was phenomenal over the lake.  The food was brilliant and the culinary grad in me was incredibly satisfied.  P.S.–beautiful plate presentation is one of my all-time favorite things.  Seeing it shows me extra love went into the entire preparation of the dish because I’ve done it myself and know.

Apps@SpencersThe scallops (above right) were by far the BEST scallops I have ever had.  They were cooked to brilliant perfection and everything on the plate complimented it well.  I still can’t get over them.  Soooo yummy.  The Caesar salad was one of the best I’ve ever had, as well.  Plate presentation was so cool and simple!

Beef tenderloin, asparagus, and potato gratin by Spencer's on the Waterfront

Ribeye and Potato Gratin at Spencer's on the WaterfrontTHIS is what real desserts look like.  Beautifully sculpted and not ginormous pieces–just the right amount.  We split this S’mores Cheesecake.

S'mores cheesecake at Spencer's on the WaterfrontWe finished off the evening by taking drinks out on the patio overlooking the boardwalk and the lake.  I had the Mr. Sparkle (a mix of prosecco, lemoncello, peach schnapps, pineapple juice, and raspberries), and Darren had a glass of scotch.  We only got a picture of our dinner drinks, and while I had the same one to sip through dinner, Darren tried a new beer with dinner.  I think he enjoyed it!

Drinks at Spencer's on the WaterfrontUnfortunately, true to form, I didn’t take any pictures of the view or us.  We did say we should get our server (who was amazing, by the way, and who made me miss culinary school because it was so fun) to take our picture, but we were both so chilled out that nothing came of it.  Ha!  Something about seeing water is so relaxing.

Even though it’s Tuesday, I’m still totally in awe of those few hours.  It was exactly what I needed after a week of running around, and it was so beautiful to spend time enjoying fantastic food and even better company.  What did you do last weekend to totally relax?

One Response to “weekend in review”

  1. Sareeta G. June 5, 2013 at 7:46 am #

    This sounds like it was heavenly! I have been to Spencer’s and loved it too! I didn’t really relax at all on the weekend…my Divas were over AND I was sick…still am unfortunately…but I am really glad that your man treated you so well! Enjoy!

tell me everything!

