styled dinner party-the food

27 Mar

So, yesterday, I introduced you to my first dinner party in more detail and, today, I bring you…the so-amazing-you-could-almost-eat-them pictures of the food.

I knew that, upon arrival, I wanted my guests to have a little bite to munch on while I finished taking pictures of everything and putting the final touches on the dinner itself.  However, because dinner was going to be heavy, I didn’t want them to fill up on appetizers and have no room for lasagna.

I tossed around the ideas of doing a meat and cheese platter, just fruit, or some mix of the two.  Once I started searching for mini-appetizer ideas (Pinterest and Google are fabulous resources, by the way), I stumbled across caprese bites.  I saw a ton of variations on this tomato, mozzarella, and basil bite, but chose to skewer them for easier handling.

I also took Pillsbury croissants and, after baking them, added sliced prosciutto to make mini sandwiches.  Now, I realize you are probably thinking that for a chef, that’s a major cop-out, but with the time schedule I had and wanting to take as much time as I needed on decor, this route was necessary.  Prosciutto was my “chef” touch and the whole thing was yummy!  Ha!

Add in a little fresh fruit, and appetizers were complete!

Appetizer table by Spunky Sapphire Events  www.theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

Appetizers by Spunky Sapphire Events   www.theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

Appetizer Platter by Spunky Sapphire Events   www.theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

Appetizer by Spunky Sapphire Events--www.theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

Caprese Bites by Spunky Sapphire Events--www.theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

(didn’t I tell you the images are incredible?! and I still have so much to learn about that camera!)

For dinner, we had a rather traditional kind of meal with Caesar salad, lasagna, and garlic bread.  I was able to use my new salad bowl for the first time that my honey bought me for my birthday.  It’s wood with a red exterior and has the coolest salad claws ever.

Caesar Salad by Spunky Sapphire Events--www.theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

(please excuse the mess on my counter)

Caesar Salad by Spunky Sapphire Events--www.theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

I tried a new lasagna recipe with cream cheese, and, WOW!  That’s all I can say.  It was so rich and I will definitely make it again.  Thanks to A Spicy Perspective, where I found the recipe, you can make it, too!  A quick side note, it is extremely heavy in it’s deliciousness, so don’t make more than you need “just in case” someone wants seconds.  I had a bunch of big guys who eat a LOT and even they only could eat one piece after only having salad as a starter.

Unfortunately, I was unable to get any “from the side” pictures of my lasagna because I was too busy serving and being hostess.  I knew, going in, that it would be a challenge to capture all the images that I wanted; the next time I throw one of these, I will definitely get a photographer to get them for me while I’m running around having fun.

Lasagna by Spunky Sapphire Events--www.theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

Lasagna by Spunky Sapphire Events--theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

(with extra cheese because you can’t go wrong with that)

Finally, dessert.  This was an interesting process and, therefore, has a story.  I planned to make an easy cake and ice it with buttercream.  Simple.  Well, then, as I was taking the layers upstairs to the garage to cool, I dropped one.  Not salvageable.  Let’s just say, I really felt like I was on Chopped or Cupcake Wars where something always happens differently than planned and the contestants have to scramble to get something presentable out.  What a crazy rush.  I made a mad dash to my recipe stash and managed to pull off a quick recovery so it didn’t affect my production plans too drastically.   As a result, my red velvet cake was half chocolate, half red velvet, but 100% yummy.

Cake with Buttercream Frosting by Spunky Sapphire Events--www.theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

Cake with Buttercream Frosting by Spunky Sapphire Events--www.theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.comI cringe when I look at that icing job, and I have quite a few friends who are cake and pastry geniuses who will probably see this picture.  Thankfully, they know I have never had much patience for cake decorating and know it’s never been one of my main talents.  Again, I completely forgot to get inside-the-cake images, but I’m pretty impressed with how it turned out, even though it was simple, and I’m loving the cake stand that I totally DIY’d.

It’s been exciting finally pulling all the pictures together!  That’s my dinner menu in images.  I’ll continue editing and pulling together my pictures, and tomorrow, you can expect to see the drinks!

One Response to “styled dinner party-the food”

  1. Sareeta G. March 27, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    Thanks so much Anna…now I am sooooooooooooo hungry!! These pictures are fabulous though!

tell me everything!

