dinner party invitations

23 Feb

If you don’t remember seeing my fabulous dinner party invitations, you can see them here.  Since I used mostly Stampin’ Up! product, I figured I could give you a product list and you could find out how to create your own version!

Now, for the inside of that gorgeous little vellum sleeve I made…

theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

I am so excited about those beauties and I love every element of them!  As I was daydreaming about them and bouncing different ideas around in my head, I played with a few different possibilities, but had no idea how they would actually turn out!  It wasn’t until I physically sat down and started playing with the components and embellishments that it fell together perfectly.  Hooray!

As this is my personal design, I don’t want to give you dimensions because if you desire to re-create my look, I want you to only take this as inspiration and give it your own spin (sizing, wording, embellishments, etc).  You may use the general template, but make it yours and it will mean so much more to you!

That being said, I will give you the list of products I used as well as direct you where to purchase some for yourself!

my digital studio

[via]

First, I used My Digital Studio 2 (MDS) to create the informative part of the invitation.  My Digital Studio, a design program from Stampin’ Up!, has literally tons of stamps, papers, punches, embellishments and more for you to play with on your computer.  While I could have typed this up in Microsoft Word, I love the “extras” MDS offers that you can’t find just anywhere!

For the background, I chose a stamp and simply faded it out a wee bit.  This way the words in the text box I placed on top of it were more visible.  The “times spent with you” stamp, once selected, was just swiveled ninety degrees to make it perpendicular to everything else.

Choosing my wording was by far the most intense part of the process.  I am a little bit of a perfectionist and want my written work to really reflect who I am.  Hence, the wording had to be  elegant/formal and funny/goofy while not being tacky.  I think I struck a pretty good balance, and I’m really happy with the outcome.

The rest was, as they say, a piece of cake.  I utilized the last few sheets of Night of Navy cardstock that I had. I’ve been loving navy lately and that paper is definitely on my to-purchase-soon list again.  It’s such a versatile color, isn’t trendy, and can be made warm, deconstructed vintage, or sleek modern!

The colored layer is from the Print Poetry Designer Series Paper Stack.  This is a must-have.  The patterns in this book are phenomenal (and double-sided for even MORE options).  I used three different patterns on my set of invitations because the colors coordinate with each other perfectly.

www.theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

[via]

After assembling it, I chose the Delicate Details lace tape to embellish.  I simply cut a piece off the roll and sliced the top of it on an angle before attaching it to the invitation.  The flower punch is a retired Stampin’ Up product, but you could use virtually any punch you wanted.  Even a simple circle would be a great addition!

While the punch is retired, the PAPER is definitely not.  That is the Silver Glimmer Paper (also available in red and champagne).  If you purchase $200 in product or host a party of the same amount, you can receive it for free which is awesome.  If not, it’s only $5.95.  Not bad, eh?  I bought some and have barely used any of it only because I usually use it as an accent piece and, therefore, I don’t use a lot of it at a time!  It’s perfect!

That little punch in the silver paper was almost the final touch.  After thinking about it for two point five seconds, I knew I had to make some vellum sleeves for them.  It was tedious at first in that I had to determine the measurements, but it wasn’t a terrible process.  In the end, they all got the same effect but were definitely not all the exact same size.  Maybe I’m not that much of a perfectionist.  A little messiness is fine with me.

Tied with perfect bows, they were ready to be mailed!

tell me everything!

