feeling guilty

21 Feb

Monday was a holiday in Canada (at least in Ontario)–Family Day.  Needless to say, this girl had to work, but that wasn’t a big deal.  It was a major bonus when they let me go early because the store was slow.  This was great because “extra time”!  Now, if you know me, you’ll know that I had a to-do list–the same one I always have going:

1. work on Stampin’ Up! (organizing, planning, getting in touch with customers)

2. work on the blog (redesigning, learning coding, posting, growing my readership)

3. work on the apartment (get my design flow going, finish some projects in my head, organize, tidy)

4. work on my career (get in touch with event planners, update/improve resume)

I have such big plans and ideas and awesome stuff, but not enough time in my day, and it’s REALLY frustrating.  I wish I could do what I love all the time while still paying the bills, but that’s not life right now.  Until it is, I savor my hours in the afternoon to do just that!  The majority of the time, however, it’s just not enough time to do everything.  There’s SO much I want to tackle and everything is in the beginning stages, so it’s overwhelming to just pick something and start on it.  I’ve enlisted the help of my smartphone’s task list because I love to-do lists and it’s great to be able to check stuff off while simultaneously getting reminders of things I wanted to do but didn’t have the time for at the moment I put it in my phone.  Sorry for that run-on sentence.

The purpose of all of the above rambling is to say that…….

I took Monday afternoon and did nothing except spend time with Darren and his family…..

…and felt immensely guilty for doing it.  My mind was screaming at me, “You want to do, and be, and succeed, but you can’t even properly utilize the extra time you’re given.  You’re not working hard enough and that’s why you are working in a coffee shop and only semi-living successfully.  You just need to work harder.”  

TheSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

[via]

I know, I’m crazy and it sounds preposterous.  My mind is really stubborn and determined and usually my body can’t keep up.  I get really frustrated because of it, especially since when I sit down and knock stuff out but time is FLYING and I just can’t get everything done because I need sleep for the next day which will alarmingly start at 5:15 am again.

Deep breath.

Not a big fan of that guilty feeling.  Am I the only crazy one who feels that way?  Please tell me I’m not.  (smile)

Okay.  Enough of that.  I have a DINNER PARTY planned that I’m so psyched about!  This is going to be another small foray into event design, cooking, and planning to keep me sane and exCITED about everything.  So far, it’s working marvelously.  Yesterday, I created the invitations.

Dinner Party Invitations -  created by theSpunkySapphire.wordpress.com

 

Yes, they are fabulous.  I had so much fun making them and my creative brain was loving it.  I will be posting pictures of the entire event probably the week of March 11, but in the meantime, I’m on Instagram and will post little sneak peaks as I go.  (By the way, that bow was the first one of six and it was bang on perfect after the first attempt.  Let me say, that never happens.)

I have been on such a design high this week and immersed in paper lanterns, menu planning, drinks menus, and color schemes.  No question, it’ll probably follow me into next week as everything comes together.  Have I mentioned I’m so geeked?

Be fantastically you, my friends!

 

3 Responses to “feeling guilty”

  1. Sareeta G. February 21, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    My goodness Anna! You MUST post pictures of the journey towards the dinner party..not just of the dinner party…let us see your process!! I would love a pic of the inside of the invite as well…did you use mainly Stampin’ Up stuff?? How about a supply list?? Then a link back to your store?? Just sayin’….

    • Anna Rosendall February 21, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

      Oh don’t worry, Sareeta! I will be. The details on the invitations will be tomorrow’s post. I did use mostly Stampin’ Up! product including MDS 2+. All of the rest of the information will be here tomorrow! Thanks for your input–brilliant thought.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. dinner party invitations | the Spunky Sapphire - February 23, 2013

    […] you don’t remember seeing my fabulous dinner party invitations, you can see them here.  Since I used mostly Stampin’ Up! product, I figured I could give you a product list and you […]

tell me everything!

