{grateful}

25 Sep

{via}

Today, I had a few setbacks that really frustrated and upset me to the point of crying.  I won’t go into detail, but I came home sobbing.  Sometimes, life happens to me, and I can’t function.  Like, my brain tells me to just focus and get my butt in gear, but my heart, on the other hand, feels like it just got stomped all over and just doesn’t know what to do next.  Anyway, my apartment has been needing a good cleaning for a few days too many (smile) and so I figured, “why not?”  At least maybe THEN, I’ll feel like I got somewhere and accomplished something.

While cleaning, it struck me.  Why am I so upset with these trivial things?  Sure, it puts a glitch in my schedule and is inconvenient, but why am I sobbing?  (By the way, up until a few weeks ago, I didn’t realize I was capable of deep, gut-wrenching sobs–rather embarrassing, actually–teehee).

So!  With that, this blog post was born.  Today, I am thankful!

{via}

P.S.–this is the feeling I’m going for. (smile)

With that, my “thankful for” list for today.  (I’m thinking this might be a good weekly thing to post about because it will remind me that I have so incredibly much to be thankful for.)

I’m thankful for….

my mac & cheese dinner and fresh grapes for dessert and all the food in my cupboards I just finished organizing….because there are so many people who have no idea when they’ll eat next

my apartment…because so many don’t have a place to call home

my health…because hospitals are full and it could have been me

my ability to clean and scrub and work hard…because some are not healthy or strong enough to do so

this beautiful weather…because some cannot enjoy it as I can

my minimum-wage job…because there are oodles of people without any kind of job

my brain…because some are born without one or cannot use theirs to the capability that I can

my ability to learn quickly and easily…because some struggle every day just to read

my talents…because they’re different than anyone else’s

my creativity…because it makes me unique

my beyond incredible, amazing, fantastic, awesome, sweet, kind, loving, ambitious, strong, determined, funny, cocky & sarcastic, uber-supportive, calm, spontaneous, crazy-like-me boyfriend, who is much more than I could have ever dreamed of having and who I love more than words will ever be able to describe…because some don’t have this type of relationship

my out-of-this-world, incredibly supportive, loving, and, by far, most AWESOME parents who are proud of me for everything (love you Mom and Dad)…because some have no parents or no support at home

my seven siblings who miss me (I miss you guys, too) and love me unconditionally even when I’m super hyper and quirky and goofy…because some have no idea who’s there for them

smiles, love, and kisses…because they’re just absolutely the best things in the world!!!

This is something I found just today and it’s getting plastered everywhere, seriously, EVERYWHERE, even on my computer wallpaper, and I’ll leave you with it.

{via}

toodles!

One Response to “{grateful}”

  1. Chrissi Holt October 1, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    Hi sweetness ! This is something that I definitely need to do and stay committed to it … a ‘I am grateful list’. I think the best thing to do is to live in the present and look for the good in everything … which I know from past experience helped me tremendously !

    Love Chrissi xo

    http://www.christianaholt.blogspot.com

tell me everything!

