{hire a planner because….}

18 Sep

In the last year, I’ve had a lot of people ask me what I want to do “when I grow up” and when I tell them event planning, they immediately scrunch up their faces and tell me they like to plan their own things!  Somewhere along life, event planners got a bad rep as people who take over and, once you’ve hired them, it becomes all their idea and you’re left in the lurch creatively.  I have no idea how that happened, but it bugs me.

Constantly, I have to explain that you can plan the entire thing, but you could hire me so you don’t look like THIS

{via}

…on your wedding day because you’re freaking out about something like the cake isn’t at your reception hall yet, or you have a spot on your dress, or you’re missing a groomsman (you shouldn’t even know that you’re missing a groomsman–that should be something I take care of without you knowing he was gone in the first place), etc.

You should be able to wake up, stretch luxuriously in your pjs, knowing that everything’s cool, and all you should have to worry about is doing your hair, getting dressed, and being the most beautiful person of the day!

You should be able to have fun (gasp! shocking, eh?) on this day and your mom should be able to just enjoy helping you and your girls get ready and taking everything in as well.  In summary, you’ve stressed about every little detail for the last who-knows-how-long that the DAY OF you should just be able to relax, get super excited, and NOT be stressed over little, last-minute things.

I’ve even had someone tell me that it’s just part of being a mom to be in charge of all of that crazy.  Maybe so, but imagine not having to deal with a last-minute upset five minutes before the ceremony because you hired a planner!

Joelle is probably my favorite wedding planner, and I’m inspired by her posts everyday on her blog, Something Charming.  I read this post last week and it was the best explanation I have read so far about why hiring a wedding planner is a good idea.

So, if you have an extra minute or three in your busy day, take the time to read her post on hiring a planner.  She also included a few other resources on hiring a planner and the perks of doing so.  After all, you probably would prefer to see photographs of your day where you look like this (as opposed to the bride above):

{via}

See what I mean?  Really, you can scroll back up if you’d like to really see the difference.  It’s okay.  I understand.  I’ll be here when you come back down. (smile)

And, I have a funny feeling you might rather be having these moments with your mom and dad…

…butterfly kisses…

{via}

…getting all dressed up…

{via}

…laughs & giggles…

{via}

…first looks…

{via}

…emotional hugs…

{via}

So!  Scoot over to visit Joelle, and then, as she asks… “Did I convince you?”  Toodles!

tell me everything!

